Plaidoyer

L’impact social (sōSHəl\ \ˈimˌpakt) est un changement important et positif qui répond à un défi social urgent. Avoir un impact social est le résultat d’un ensemble d’activités réfléchies. MCIS Solutions linguistiques milite pour un meilleur accès aux informations essentielles sur les écoles de la région ; les opportunités d’emploi ; les droits civiques et politiques ; les services de santé et juridiques afin de permettre aux individus de participer pleinement à la vie civique et veiller à la richesse des communautés. Notre stratégie d’impact social se concentre sur trois domaines clés :

  • L’utilisation du PLAIDOYER dans des programmes, des politiques et des financements pour obtenir des informations et des services essentiels. Ainsi, le droit fondamental de la personne ; le partage des données langagières et sociales ; l’innovation sociale ; et la professionnalisation des services langagiers sont respectés.De même, la croissance de la recherche interne et la capacité de partenariats externes sont renforcées (dans le but d’influencer les débats publics et les politiques).

Les développements les plus récents dans ce domaine comprennent desservices gratuits de traduction et d’interprétation offerts aux bénéficiaires admissibles, une formation professionnelle langagière gratuite ; hackathons communautaires ; par ex. Language PolicyHackathon et MigrahackTO ( #MigrahackTO Report, Blogue); Défense linguistique sensibilisation et plaidoyer événements (par ex., Language Justice Series:Localization Sprint - Psiphon pour les traducteurs et défenseurs des droits linguistiques ), et une collaboration autour desinitiatives communesliées à l’innovation sociale et caritative. 

  • CAPACITY through strengthened capacity of the professional language services field for improved access to critical information and services, maintaining ad diverse work force and leading the language services sector through providing specialised training and awareness about “social” procurement practices.
  • GROWTH through the business supports programs to increase access to rights, services, safety indirectly promoting general  health and well-being (here is how our growth is guided by our intended impact emerging from our Theory of Change). 
ÉVÈNEMENTS, INITIATIVES ET LA COMMUNAUTÉ
Théorie du changement

LA THÉORIE DU CHANGEMENT
La théorie du changement de MCIS démontre comment les relations entre nos principaux bénéficiaires, les parties prenantes (le personnel, les bénévoles, les partenaires, les clients), ainsi que les stratégies, les activités et les résultats que nous produisons nous guident pour atteindre notre impact prévu .

Journée de la traduction

NOTRE HISTOIRE

MCIS a d’abord été créé pour éliminer les barrières linguistiques pour les victimes de violence familiale et sexuelle. MCIS Solutions linguistiques, pôle de services linguistiques complets, propose les normes de qualité les plus élevés, les temps de réponse les plus rapides et les coûts les plus bas du secteur. L’entreprise fournit également des services financés par les fonds publics et des avantages sociaux, et défend parfois les droits de ses clients.

IMPACT COMMUNAUTAIRE

L’engagement principal de MCIS est orienté vers les personnes vulnérables et leurs droits d’accès aux importants services publics. Depuis sa création en 1989, MCIS a facilité la communication dans le secteur public (abris, application de la loi, la santé et le système de justice pénale), recadrant en permanence les récits des diverses communautés linguistiques, en particulier en ce qui concerne les droits linguistiques et la défense des langues.

Diapositive 1

CE QU’IL FAUT POUR INSTALLER UNE FAMILLE

Au fil des années, MCIS est passé de 3 employés en 1993 à plus de 60 employés à temps plein en 2018. Cette croissance a été soutenue par les politiques d’embauche qui ont créé des opportunités pour les immigrants, les nouveaux arrivants et les réfugiés. Aujourd’hui, 85 % du personnel de MCIS  s’identifient comme la première  génération d’immigrants  et 95 % de nos professionnels de la langue ainsi que nos étudiants sont soit des immigrants ou ont des parents nés à l’étranger. À l’heure actuelle, près de 5 000 personnes directement associées à MCIS sont en mesure de trouver des débouchés lucratives dans l’industrie de la langue en subvenant à leur besoins et celui de leurs familles.  En tant que société caritative fière de son statut d’entreprise sociale, MCIS estime que la cause humanitaire qui l’a inspiré à prendre la décision difficile mais gratifiante de parrainer une famille de réfugiés syriens en 2017 était aussi économiquement justifiée et fondée sur l’expérience et la contribution des réfugiés et des immigrants envers la croissance de MCIS.

#MIGRAHACKTO,Communauté hackathon

À #MigrahackTO, nous avons combiné les données et le journalisme pour s’intéresser aux questions d’immigration. Ils formeront des équipes diverses et utiliseront la puissance de la visualisation des données pour raconter des histoires fondées par des données. La plupart des journalistes et des membres de la communauté n’ont jamais assisté à une hackathon. La plupart des programmeurs ne sont jamais penchés sue les questions d’immigration. Migrahack rassemble divers groupes afin de collaborer sur les questions qui nous touchent tous.

Plus :MigrahackTO Blogpost; MigrahackTO Rapport

MigrahackTO Youtube

EN SAVOIR PLUS SUR MCIS

Advocacy

Social Impact (sōSHəl\ \ˈimˌpakt) is a significant, positive change that addresses a pressing social challenge. Having a social impact is the result of a deliberative set of activities. MCIS Language Solutions advocates for improved access to critical information about local schools, job opportunities, civic and political rights, and access to health and legal services to make it possible for people to fully participate in civic life and for communities to remain prosperous. Our social impact strategy focuses on three key areas:

  • ADVOCACY through programs, policy and funding for access to critical information and services as a basic human right, language and social data sharing, social innovation and professionalization of language services while continuously increasing internal research and external partnerships capacity (for the purpose of influencing public debates and policies).

The most recent work in this field includes free services to qualified recipients of translation and interpretation, free language professional training; community hackathons e.g. Language Policy Hackathon and MigrahackTO (#MigrahackTO Report, blog); language justice advocacy awareness events (e.g. Language Justice Series: Localization Sprint – Psiphon for Translators and Language Justice Activists) as well as partnering on joint initiatives related to social and non-profit innovation. 

  • CAPACITY through strengthened capacity of the professional language services field for improved access to critical information and services, maintaining ad diverse work force and leading the language services sector through providing specialised training and awareness about “social” procurement practices.
  • GROWTH through the business supports programs to increase access to rights, services, safety indirectly promoting general  health and well-being (here is how our growth is guided by our intended impact emerging from our Theory of Change). 
EVENTS, INITIATIVES and COMMUNITY
theory of change

THEORY OF CHANGE
MCIS’ Theory of Change framework demonstrates how the relationships among our primary beneficiaries, stakeholders (staff, volunteers, partners, customers) as well as the strategies, activities and the outcomes we produce guide us to achieve our intended impact.

Translation Day

OUR STORY

MCIS was initially created to remove language barriers for victims of domestic and sexual violence. Today, we are a comprehensive language solutions hub with the highest quality, most responsive and most cost effective services, and also provides funded services, social benefits and engages in advocacy.

COMMUNITY IMPACT

MCIS’ primary commitment is to vulnerable persons and their rights to access important public services. Since its inception in 1989, MCIS has been facilitating communication in the public sector (shelters, law enforcement, healthcare and criminal justice system), continuously reframing narratives around diverse linguistic communities, especially in relation to language rights and language advocacy.

Slide1

WHAT IT TAKES TO SETTLE A FAMILY

Over the years, MCIS’s growth from a staff of 3 in 1993 to over 60 full time employees in 2018 was supported by hiring policies that created opportunities for immigrants, newcomers and refugees. Today, 85% of MCIS staff  identify themselves as 1st generation immigrants  and 95% of our language professionals as well as our students are either immigrants or have parents born outside Canada. Presently, close to 5000 individuals directly associated with MCIS are able to find lucrative opportunities in the language industry while sustaining themselves and their families.  As a non-profit that prides itself on being a social enterprise, MCIS believes that the humanitarian cause that inspired the organization to make the challenging but rewarding decision to sponsor a Syrian refugee family in 2017 was also economically justified, based on the lived experience of how refugees and immigrants have contributed to MCIS’s growth.

#MIGRAHACKTO, Community Hackathon

At #MigrahackTO, we combined data & journalism to delve into immigration issues. They will form diverse teams and use the power of data visualization to tell stories driven by data. Most journalists and community members have never attended a hackathon. Most programmers have never worked on immigration issues. Migrahack brings together diverse groups to work jointly on the issues that affect us all.

More: MigrahackTO Blogpost; MigrahackTO Report

MigrahackTO Youtube

MORE ABOUT MCIS